Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Breaking A Legend by Sarah Robinson Blog Tour - Review & Q & A

Enter to Win a 
Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle

Kavanagh Legends #1
Sarah Robinson
Released Sept 29th, 2015

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sarah Robinson is the bestselling author of The Photographer Trilogy and the Sand & Clay rock star series. A native of Washington, D.C., Robinson has both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in criminal psychology. She is married to a local police officer who is just as much of an animal rescue enthusiast as she is. Together, they own a zoo of rescue and foster animals.

We asked Sarah Robinson a few questions and she very kindly joined in our silliness!  Check out the Q & A below:

BiblioJunkies:  What is your favorite thing about sports romance?

Sarah Robinson: Masculinity and rugged alphas, for sure. Almost every sports romance has a muscled, strong athlete who’s one of the best in his field, and won’t let anything stand between him and his dreams. Being an athlete takes dedication, skill, and ambition- all very attractive qualities to me in a man, and ones I hope to portray in all my novels. Rory’s career is over at the start of the novel due to an injury, but the same drive and determination never leaves him. He knows what he wants, and he’s going to get her.

BiblioJunkies:  Do you have a favorite book boyfriend/literary crush?

Sarah Robinson:  Gabe Hyde from Rachel van Dyken’s Ruin Series has stuck with me for a while, something about the way she writes men is intoxicating to me. They’re both strong and capable, yet wounded and in need of a woman’s help to be the man they want to be. If you’re talking specifically MMA       romances, then any man in the Fighting Series by JB Salsbury has stolen my heart more than once. Honestly, I don’t have one specific favorite, because my favorite is usually whatever I’m   reading at the time!

BiblioJunkies:  What is your favorite book of 2015 (so far)?

Sarah Robinson:  I adored The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon, which I’m not sure came out this year but I read it   this year. That story was fantastic. I laughed out loud, literally to Confessions of a Reformed Tom            Cat by Daisy Prescott. For a chilling and fantastic read, I read Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes         which actually comes out next year. Her first book, You, was amazing, and it’s in my top favorites        of all time. For romance specifically, I really loved After the Kiss by Lauren Layne, and that whole     series. I plan on reading at least 30 more books before the end of the year though, so who knows   what else might catch my eye! At the end of every year, I post a “top books of the year” list on my website, which you can subscribe to in order not to miss it at www.booksbysarahrobinson.net.

BiblioJunkies:  Are you a boxing/MMA fan?

Sarah Robinson:  Do I like sweaty men groping around at each other and flipping around on a mat? Yes, yes I do.    Do I like the sport itself and am a diehard fan? Not necessarily. I enjoy the sport itself, but it’s   always so short. So often when I’m watching, it’s always the lead up to the fight, then the fight is ten seconds, and it’s over. Those ten seconds are pretty freaking awesome though.

BiblioJunkies:  We are all about books, boys and pie (or really any sweet treat) here at BiblioJunkies HQ, we’ve covered the first two, so I have to ask, what is your favorite treat?

Sarah Robinson:  I’m eating pizza as a type this and wearing a t-shirt by Chris Crocker that says “I ain’t tryna please ya, I’m just tryna eat some pizza,” so one would think that is my favorite, but that’s just my favorite of the day. My favorite sweet treats varies based on the time of the month, you know what I’m talking about ladies, and based on how heavily my personal trainer shamed me and my eating habits that particularly, but if the calories don’t count, sheet cake is my favorite thing in the world. Generic vanilla sheet cake with dye-your-tongue-blue frosting and outrageously large frosting flowers. Heaven, right there. Sometimes I crash kid’s birthday parties just to eat the cake, and if they have one of those weird fruit cakes, they’re off my friend list for life. This is very serious.

I often post the silly things I’m wearing and eating on my Instagram (www.instagram.com/booksbysarahrobinson) so make sure to follow me to keep up!


There seem to be a lot of boxing/MMA books out there right now where the badass fighter falls for the abused girl.  Breaking a Legend was well-executed, thoughtful and a good read, but I think I'm burnt out on this particular storyline.  I will never tire of staring at the book cover, though.  :)  That said, I enjoyed Breaking a Legend, especially the supporting cast of characters.

I do adore the Kavanagh family and can't wait to read Kieran's story in Saving a Legend (coming in March 2016).  Lots of siblings, each will get their own book according to Ms. Robinson's website, and if you have siblings, you know the kind of hijinx that ensue.  There's a real family dynamic that is entertaining and engrossing, and that is what will keep me coming back for more.  

~ Shel