Thursday, October 27, 2011

Flying Blind by Deborah Cooke


From NAL:


The next generation of shape-shifting dragons from the popular author of the Dragonfire novels.
Zoe Sorensson is perfectly normal, except she’s been told she’s destined for great things. Zoe’s the one female dragon shapeshifter of her kind. But Zoe is at the bottom of the class when it comes to being Pyr and her powers are AWOL, so she’s sent to a Pyr boot camp.
Zoe quickly realizes that she has to master her powers yesterday, because the Pyr are in danger and boot camp is a trap. The Mages want to eliminate all shifters and the Pyr are next in line - unless Zoe and her friends can work together and save their own kind.
I am a fan of Deborah Cooke’s adult Dragonfire series. Flying Blind is a young adult series set in the same universe of dragons and magic. The Pyr are an ancient race of dragon shape-shifters. In Cooke’s universe, there is only one female Pyr per generation. She is the Wyvern and she is revered by the other Pyr as their spiritual guide and advisor. In this generation, Zoe is supposed to be the lucky winner, but she cannot figure out her shifting or Wyvern powers. She doubts that she is the true Wyvern and when she and her friends get to boot camp, they begin to doubt it as well. But Zoe must quickly learn to believe in herself and figure out her powers, because strange things are happening at boot camp and she fears the adult Pyr are in trouble. The only way to save everyone is for Zoe to convince herself and her friends that she is the Wyvern and for them to work together.

Cooke’s dragon lore is engrossing. The characters are lovable and the story is completely entertaining. Flying Blind is a fun tribute to the trials of growing up - learning to believe in yourself and figuring out who you are and want to be. While Zoe figures herself out, she is awkward and ridiculous - seriously, you totally feel embarrassed for her! It’s one part adorable heroine, 1 part high-flying adventure (literally) and 2 parts hot dragon & spellcasting boys = a fantastic reading experience!
The sequel, Winging It releases December 6, 2011.
You can learn more about Cooke's Dragonfire series (adult paranormal romance) here.  I recommend you check out both series for some seriously fun entertainment. 

1 comment: