Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Size 12 & Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot


From HarperCollins:

Summer break . . . and the livin' ain't easy!
Just because the students at New York College have flown the coop doesn't mean assistant residence hall director Heather Wells can relax. Fischer Hall is busier than ever, filled with squealing thirteen- and fourteen-year-old girls attending the first ever Tania Trace Teen Rock Camp, hosted by pop sensation Tania Trace herself—who just happens to be newly married to Heather's ex-boyfriend, heartthrob Jordan Cartwright. But the real headache begins when the producer of a reality TV show starring Tania winds up dead . . . and it's clear that the star was the intended victim.
Grant Cartwright, head of Cartwright Records, wants to keep his daughter-in-law (and his highest-earning performer) alive. So he hires his oldest son, black sheep of the family and private investigator Cooper Cartwright—who just happens to be Heather's new fiancĂ©. Heather should leave the detecting to Cooper. But with a dorm full of hysterical mini-divas-in-training, she can't help but get involved. And after Tania shares a really shocking secret with her, this reality suddenly becomes more dangerously real than anyone ever anticipated.

We first met Heather Wells, former teen pop-sensation in Size 12 is Not Fat in 2005.  In 2006, Heather continued her sleuthing in Size 14 is Not Fat Either.  2007 brought us the third Heather adventure in Big Boned.  We then suffered a long draught for FIVE LONG YEARS.  Coming July 10, 2012, Heather returns in Size 12 & Ready to Rock!  This time, Heather is forced to protect Tania Trace, the girl that replaced her, not only as a pop-sensation, but also as Jordan Cartwright's girlfriend.

The Bad -  The long FIVE YEAR WAIT!  I have no patience to wait even a year for an anticipated book, so the five years I had to wait for the new Heather Wells mystery was pure torture.  As for the book itself, I was disappointed that we did not get to spend more time with Heather's hilarious cast of supporting characters.  We get cameos from most of the favorites, but not enough "screen" time in my opinion.  Size 12 & Ready to Rock is a much more internal journey for Heather, as opposed to the snooping, trouble seeking Heather of the previous three books, which isn't really bad, it's just that Heather is so hilarious when she is stumbling through an investigation - I missed it in this book.

The Good - Meg. Cabot.  Need I say more?  Yes?  Ok, Size 12 & Ready to Rock is classic Meg Cabot - funny and thoroughly entertaining with just a touch of mystery and intrigue.  Fans of Janet Evanovich, Jill Shalvis, Sophie Kinsella or the like, will love Size 12 & Ready to Rock.  If you are unfamiliar with the Heather Wells Series, I highly suggest you start with Size 12 is Not Fat and work your way through the series for optimal enjoyment. 

It's my understanding that there will be at least one more in the Heather Wells series, hopefully next year! 



  1. I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited to read this one! Size 12 and Ready to Rock is probably my most anticipated read of this year! And yes, it's been WAY too long! I read it my senior year in high school, which was luckily only 3 years ago, but still anything more than a year is WAY to long for wait for the next book! :)

  2. I didn't know there was a new book in this series out - yay! Thanks for the tip off!