Tuesday, September 29, 2015

A Taste of Sugar by Marina Adair

*** 1/2

From Forever Romance (Grand Central):

A blast from her past . . .
Charlotte Holden, Sugar's favorite pediatrician, knows better than anyone that love only leads to heartbreak. Instead, she's focused on creating the Grow Clinic, an outpatient center for children. All she has to do now is to host the best Founder's Day Parade in the history of Sugar, Georgia, to win over a big-city donor. Easy as peach pie. Then sexy Jace McGraw blows back into town and utters those three words every woman dreads: we're still married.

. . . leads to tantalizing trouble
Jace McGraw was making an offer on his dream business in Atlanta when he was told that his wife had some credit issues. Wait, his wife? The annulment went through years ago-or so he thought. He'd walked away only to keep his troublemaker reputation from ruining her dreams. But now that they have a second chance, Jace offers Charlotte a deal: he'll grant a discreet divorce in exchange for 30 days and nights of marriage. Because this time he isn't going to let her go without a fight.

The McGraw brothers are fabulous.  First we met Brett, the pro-golfer playboy, then Cal, the stand-up single father, now the youngest, Jace, the troubled brother, comes home to Sugar, Georgia.  It's a classic good girl meets bad boy story, except Jace isn't much of a bad boy.  Troubled, absolutely, but not so much of a bad boy, despite his hulking muscles and tattoos.  He's really a big teddy-bear.  For her part, Charlotte is the classic good girl suffocating under the weight of expectations.  When she finds her voice, it's awesome to watch her make everyone take notice.

Marina Adair has solidified her spot on my list of go-tos for sweety, steamy small-town romance.  Fans of Jill Shalvis and Kristin Higgins will fall in love with Sugar, Georgia too.  

~ Shel

No comments:

Post a Comment